Our councillors

There are currently four councillors of the National Competition Council, with a variety of backgrounds and a wide range of skills and experience. The councillors are appointed by the Governor-General under section 29C of the Competition and Consumer Act 2010, with the agreement of a majority of the states and territories party to the Competition Principles Agreement.

Julie-Anne Schafer - President

Ms Julie-Anne Schafer is the President of the National Competition Council. Ms Schafer was initially appointed for a period of three years from 18 December 2015. In December 2018, Ms Schafer was reappointed as President for a three-year term to December 2021. On 4 March 2022, Ms Schafer was reappointed as President for a further three-year term.

Ms Schafer has 25 years of experience as a partner in the legal services sector. She has served on advisory committees for the law faculties of several universities in Queensland. She was also the Deputy Chancellor of the Queensland University of Technology. She has over 15 years of directorship experience in diverse and highly regulated sectors, including road and rail transport.

Ms Schafer has a Bachelor of Laws (Honours) degree and is a Fellow of the Australian Institute of Company Directors.

Martin Wallace 

Mr Martin Wallace was initially appointed to the Council for a period of three years from 18 December 2015. In December 2018, Mr Wallace was reappointed to the Council for a period of two years to December 2020. He was subsequently reappointed for three month terms in December 2020 and again in June 2021. On 10 December 2021, Mr Wallace was reappointed for a two year term.

Mr Wallace was previously the Secretary of the Tasmania Department of Treasury and Finance. He has extensive experience in public administration, regulatory policy and business and financial management as well as senior executive experience in the energy and telecommunications sectors. He is an experienced board member, including past roles with Aurora Energy Pty Ltd, the Tasmanian Public Finance Corporation, Tastel Limited and the Governing Council of the Tasmanian Health Service.

Mr Wallace has a Bachelor of Economics (Honours) degree.

Katrina Groshinski

Ms Katrina Groshinki was appointed to the Council for a period of three years from 18 February 2021 and re-appointed for a further 18 months from 23 February 2024 to 17 August 2025. 

Ms Groshinski is a leading competition and regulatory lawyer and has been a partner at MinterEllison since 2010. She was previously a partner and associate at Clayton Utz from 2003.

Ms Groshinski has a Bachelor and Master of Laws.